‹ Main Site Forums Home My Account

Draft Advice? Dynasty

My Buddy has set up a new Dynasty League and the Startup Draft will take place soon.

I’m new to Dynasty, so I’m in need of advice / tips. Hit me up with your gems!!

Assume it will be 12 Team, PPR, 1QB, 2RB, 2WR, 1TE, 1 Flex. Unknown draft position.

Thanks in advance :smiley:

Can you trade draft pick? Is the initial draft veterans only or will it include rookies/rookie draft picks? Separate 2019 rookie draft?

My advice for a start up dynasty is that you should absolutely go auction for all start up drafts. Now my best advice to you fits snake and auction, DONT overvalue youth and under value older players that may only have 2 or 3 years left. Those players become huge values that can help now while younger guys develop

Can trade draft picks.

Initial draft is Veterans only - with a separate 2019 rookie draft to follow

Agreed. This is what I was going to say too. Yes dynasty is for the long haul, but the easiest time to win can be right away when everyone is trying to build a young roster you can get guys like Julian Edelman super late. Remember it’s a 3 year window to look at, not 10 year.

I advise highly against a snake style draft and also excluding rookies for the main draft.

A dynasty startup should be auction style only and should include every player. No one earned a draft pick, why should a few teams get the best rookies because they got lucky with a random draw?

Who you draft effects your team for years to come, you shouldnt be “stuck” with a team based on a draft pick.

think about it, how much more of an advantage would someone have if they got lucky enough to draft top 3 in both the vet draft and the rookie draft?

Put everyone on equal ground, if you want a guy then pay for him. dont be automatically excluded from getting gurley, barkley, etc because you get the 7 pick or something like that.