Help at 1.05 in a 10 team .5PPR keeper league

Hey everyone,

I am new to an existing keeper league and have taken over someone else’s team. Luckily, I am keeping Lamar Jackson in the 16th round so I am good at QB.

My issue is I have the 5th pick in the draft (Yahoo, HPPR, Keeper, 1QB,2RB,2WR,1Flex) and several of this year’s first/second round ADP players are unavailable as they are keepers. This list includes Michael Thomas, Alvin Kamara, Austin Ekeler, and Kenyan Drake.

I’m struggling with my draft position because in my mock drafts I am typically forced to lead off with either Derrick Henry or Dalvin Cook at pick 5, both of which scare the hell out of me with my first pick since Cook is a possible holdout (and injury risk) and I’m not sure if Henry can repeat his late season beastness through a full season (especially when he doesn’t get targets and this is a 0.5PPR league).

Is anyone having the same issue, and if so, what are you doing to mitigate your concerns? I’ve drafted Davante Adams but haven’t ended up liking my RB group when I do that. Am I overthinking Cook at 5? Should I reach on someone like Chubb or Jacobs (not a Mixon believer because of that awful O-line)? Should I try and move backward in the draft order for no compensation (straight-up swap)? Any suggestions or insight will be greatly appreciated!

You are over thinking it for sure. Take Cook at 5.

4 Likes

Welcome to the Fantasy Footballers forum @Webbkl!

Agree with @morestagedives

Do not trade back without compensation. But definitely look into trading down if you can get a deal done and it makes sense. Meaning maybe you trade down in order to draft the last RB in your top tiers.

1 Like

@fun4willis, this league has locked down compensation for pre-draft trades. So the only way I would be able to move back or forward in draft order is for a straight-up position swap.