‹ Main Site Forums Home My Account

Is it crazy to draft a QB in rounds 1-2 in an 8 person 1 QB PPR league?

I’m new to an 8 person PPR work league. From talking with some of the other guys, they seem to like drafting players like Aaron Rogers, Matt Ryan etc as early as round 1 assuming DJ, Elliot, etc have already been taken. I told them this sounds really early but they said to look at who the top scorers were last year and indeed Rogers is in the top 10.

Let them take those guys and load up on WR and RB. 8 teams, you’ll be loaded and still looking at Jameis, Stafford, Wilson, Rivers, Roethlisberger after round 4 or 5. Once you get past the top 4 or 5 QB’s, the point projections are pretty close per game between QB 6 and QB 16.

Thanks. I keep hearing people talk about “scarcity” with the RB position. If if you start towards the end of the 8 person draft and draft in position 8 and 9 or 7 and 10 then I guess you could come out with guys like both Devonta Freeman and DeMarco Murry which would only make that position even scarcer.

Yes, it’s crazy. Passing up on top 8 WRs and RBs is nuts.

you are correct in seeing that a lot of QBs score highly overall. but in an 8 man, even if everyone else drafts 2 QBs, that means you can still draft the 15th best QB with your last pick. take your depth at other positions and let them draft high on QB. you will be laughing the whole way to a championship. because there are 32 teams, and around 40ish running backs that are viable options. everyone in your league needs 2. the points you gain from having exceptional depth at RB and WR way beat out having a powerhouse QB with your first pick. because the more you draft of those types of players while they are out getting QBs and TEs, the more you starve them of the most important positions. RB and WR.

How many top 20 RB is too many? If you take 3 in the top 20, does it make sense to keep going? I guess it is all situational in every draft.