New Commish.. help!

What’s up footclan! I just took over as commissioner in my main league on ESPN and I’ve never done this before! Can you guys share any tips/suggestions/timelines that would help me out? I’ve already made a legit constitution (rule book), bought a league trophy, added 2 players, and upped the entry fee(which everyone agreed to). Thanks guys! #Footclanunite

What type of league is it? Dynasty, keeper or redraft.

Redraft. Sorry for the late response

What do you use for league communication?
How do you determine draft order?
Is it a keeper league?
Do you allow draft pick trading?
How and when do you conduct the draft?

I use GroupMe for communication, plus everyone has everyone’s number. We pick a golf tournament and pick a golfer and watch it to determine draft order, everybody likes golf here. It’s not a keeper league and you cannot trade draft picks until the draft starts. And I’m thinking about getting some rooms at a hotel at the beach and doing the draft there.

1 Like

Sounds like you have everything under control.

Thanks man. Just following in my old commissioners footsteps

Get rid of the kicker position and instead start 2 D/St. If you’ve added two more teams you’re probably a 12 team league? Starting 2 D/Sts limits streaming options and makes teams pay attention to the position and plan ahead for bye weeks.

If you’re going to do this, I’d customize the D/St scoring so that you’re not penalized as much for points given up. In my re-draft league (I’m just a member, not the commish) we do this and the penalty for giving up 35+ points is only -3 or -5 points. In default D/St scoring, it’s sometimes strategic to not even start a D/St.

This simple change has made a huge difference in that league. Do this and you’ll cringe when friends ask you for start/sit advice and you see kickers on their roster.

1 Like

Since it is a redraft I would do one of two things…