‹ Main Site Forums Home My Account

New League Set UP

Hey guys, Love the podcast.

DO you have any suggestions on getting a new league together? I have been playing fantasy football for about 10 years but a lot of my friends that I have met recently don’t play. Is there any suggestions on how to promote the sport to some of my friends? I don’t want to have a freeby league, because part of the fun is the draft day and having something on the line and talking shit to each other from week to week.

Any suggestions you might have, please let me know.

Sup Tim,

The first part of your questions is pretty easy. Getting a new league together is as simple as creating it, and then sending invites to people interested in joining. Finding people that are interested is I believe your second part of your post. To be honest, you are in the midst of a community centered around Fantasy Football and that should be a no brainer. Just post your new league in the Footclan League Forums and you will eventually have enough people interested. If not, than your league format might be too wonky or plain for the majority of peoples taste. I am not sure about evangelizing your friends and relatives to convince them into playing fantasy. Most people that are into football have tried it once before. 

Hope this helps!
-Dave

Thanks Dave. Believe it or not, I am starting a league with some friends that have only played one year or haven’t played at all. My concern is trying keep them interested throughout the entire season and want to play again next year. Should I put more points in play or more players to start each week? I joined a new league a few years ago at work and there were some seasoned fantasy football veterans, but some newbies, and the newbies got killed week to week because they didn’t know how to play or draft good players so their team would be able to compete from week to week, and they eventually fell out.