Pick 1.02: Running Back or Wide Reciever

Hi Footclan! I have the 1.02 in a 10 team start up dynasty league. It is my first year in Dynasty and want to make sure I have the right approach with my pick. Assuming Barkley is picked at 1.01, should I draft a RB at 1.02 such as Zeke, Gurley, McCaffrey or Kamara or should I try and grab an elite reciever such as Hopkins or Adams? I’m only asking because I’ve heard that it’s good to solidify the WR spot on a dynasty team. Look forward to your opinions!

I did my start up a few years ago and OBJ was the clear cut #1 dynasty pick. I decided to go with a RB instead (dumbly chose DJ over Zeke b/c of the suspension at the time). Anyways, I really think RB is the way to go when comparing across tiers. You always want to “win now” and a solid RB core will help with that, as I’m sure you know from re-draft. Therefore, I would go Zeke if Barkely goes 1.01 because Zeke is the safest, most proven, and still young RB available.
My other bits of advice with a start up draft:

1. When comparing two players in the exact same tier, take the younger; but, do not pass up on an older guy a tier above a younger, take the best player and only use age as a tie-breaker.
  2. Unless you are in a 2TE or superflex league, TEs and QBs should still be your super late round picks. I think WRs and RBs are even more valuable in dynasty because of roster size; so, let other people take TEs and QBs while you load up on WR and RB depth.
  3. Later in drafts, consider QB age and contracts when looking at young WRs who have yet to break out. A young WR lottery ticket is a great thing to have; but, if you can’t be sure they have a QB in the future, that lottery ticket becomes more risky.