‹ Main Site Forums Home My Account

UDK - Explain Tier Drafting Please

First time UDK owner, just found the footballers last year and love everything they do. I am attempting to understand the concept of tier trading because I agree that it sounds much better than using a top 200 list and just grabbing the top guy.

My main question, is how do the tiers compare to each other? I did a mock draft the other day, and felt a little lost around rounds 5 and 6.

How does a Tier 2 WR compare to a Tier 2 QB? Do you look at ADP? How do you know which round is a “good deal” for some of the better players?

This is my first year is a keeper league so a lot of things are new to me this year.

Thanks for any help!

Due to position scarcity, I would generally pick running back over any other position if the tiers are close. A tier 2 WR is much more valuable than a tier 2 QB, all QBs should be drafted in the double digit rounds of your fantasy draft. Could argue that tight end shouldn’t be drafted till that late as well. I personally refuse to draft any position other than RB and WR in the first 10 rounds, but thats just me.

I feel as though I can stream QBs all year long with waiver wire guys who have good matchups. Same with tight ends, plus I think this year TE is a little deeper than usual.

If you get to the middle rounds and are finding yourself struggling with the tiers and who to draft, my advice is to play it safe and try to trade the best available running back or wide out.

How I do tier drafting in snake drafts are…
Have 3 things on my draft table.

1. tier rankings of each player in his respective categorie.
  2. TOP 200 or ADP of top 200 players
  3. Blank roster sheet with my leagues roster size… Example : 1Qb,2Rb, 3Wr, Te, Flex 6 bench spots.

As the draft is happening I cross players off both lists…